Matt Marantz – SJW thoughts

The Stanford Workshop was a great experience and I feel that I really learned a lot about working with younger musicians during the two weeks that I was present there. Hanging with Junior Mance and hearing him talk about Cannoball Adderly was one of the highlights of the two weeks for me. Junior is a kind and inspiring person, and to hear him tell stories about his firsthand experiences while playing and touring with other great jazz musicians such as Cannonball was really awesome. I always enjoy getting to be around great musicians like Junior, Tootie Heath, and Charles McPherson because it allows you to get to know them on a more personal level. Often this makes you realize how much someone’s personality comes through in their music.
I also greatly enjoyed hanging and playing with the other mentors at the workshop. I always feel inspired when an opportunity arises to get to play with musicians of their caliber, and I’m already looking forward to next year’s workshop.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

